What's New

News and Events

Public News


Light the Night 2017 Walk

The Olmsted Foundation “Light the Night” team gathers before the 2017 charity walk. Picture from left to right: CPT Mike McCaughey (OSC 18, Lisbon), LT Chris Putko (OSC 18, Jerusalem), Alison Birsic, George Birsic (OSC 98, Zagreb), Danielle Smith, Capt Chris Smith (OSC 18, Berlin), Andy DuBois (OSC 11, Taipei), Elsie Smith, Ann Hartmann, Dave Estep (OSC 86, Dijon), Gentry Faulkner, LT Zach Smith (OSC 18, Thessaloniki), Mark Elfendahl (OSC 99, Jena), Barb Yablonski, Chris Yablonski and Tom Keithly (OSC 77, Strasbourg). Not pictured: Deb Loewer (OSC 84, Kiel), Joyia McCaughey, Colt McCaughey, Isabella McCaughey, Sophia McCaughey.

Read More


Scholars Present at the University of Sao Paulo

On September 20, 2017, six Olmsted Scholars currently studying in South America gathered at Latin America's top-ranked university, the University of Sao Paulo, to present information about the Olmsted Scholar Program and discuss their academic research with Brazilian professors, students, and the United States Consul General to Brazil, Mr. Ricardo Zuniga.

Read More


Army Scholars Selected for Promotion to Colonel

Four Olmsted Scholars have been selected for promotion to the rank of COL by the U.S. Army. Congratulations to the following Scholars. It is great to see Olmsted leadership in action!

Read More


Olmsted Scholars Promoted in Dual Promotion Ceremony

A group of Olmsted Scholars recently gathered at the Hall of Heroes in Washington, D.C. to celebrate at the promotion ceremony for Active Duty Director CAPT Dave Sauve (OSC 01, Santiago) and CAPT Ted Nunamaker (Osc 01, Tartu). VADM Doug Crowder (OSC 80, Lausanne), current chairman of the Olmsted Foundation board, officiated at the dual-promotion ceremony. The Olmsted Foundation wishes both of these Scholars continued success and is proud of their leadership and service to the country.

Read More


Olmsted Scholar Presented with a 2016 SECNAV Innovation Award

Congratulations to CDR Audrey G. Adams (OSC 06, Taipei) whose novel idea led to improved security on the USEUCOM SIPRnet network enclave! CDR Adams was presented with an honorable mention award in the Outside the Box category of the 2016 SECNAV Innovation Awards in recognition of her contributions. Adams serves as a fine example of Olmsted Leadership.

Read More


Olmsted Scholars Selected for Command by the USMC

Congratulations to the following Olmsted Scholars who have been selected for Command by the USMC: Maj Dan Goff (OSC 10, Kyiv) -Marine Heavy Helicopter Squadron 366 (HMH-366), MAG-29, New River, NC Maj Chris Johnson (OSC 06, Hong Kong) - Combat Logistics Battalion 31 (CLB-31), 31st MEU, Camp Hansen, Okinawa, Japan

Read More


Scholar Takes Command of 6-37 FA Battalion

On June 15th, 2017, LTC Wilbur Hsu assumed command of 6th Battalion, 37th Field Artillery Regiment, 210th Field Artillery Brigade, 2nd Infantry Division/ROK-US Combined Division at Camp Casey, South Korea. The battalion is one of three forward-deployed Multiple Launch Rocket System (MLRS) Artillery Battalions on the Korean Peninsula.

Read More


Summer 2017 Olmsted Foundation Newsletter

Download the Summer 2017 Olmsted Foundation Newsletter Here : Summer 2017 Olmsted Foundation Newsletter Summer 2017 Olmsted Newsletter (841 KB)

Read More


Air Force Scholars Selected for Promotion to Major

Congratulations are in order for Captain Collin O'Bryant (OSC 18, Cluj-Napoca) and Captain Brad Fisher (OSC 18, Kyiv)! Both Scholars on their selection for promotion to Major by the U.S. Air Force!

Read More